Health and Society

Scientists at the University Hospital of Düsseldorf’s CHS (Center for Health and Society) pursue the question of what defines a healthy life and how corresponding general social conditions can be devised. 

Not only are the conditions for a healthy life in our society and for modern healthcare investigated – perspectives on improvements to healthcare provisions are also dealt with. Scientists from various medical fields of the university clinic work together on an interdisciplinary basis, cooperate with internal and external institutions, integrate their research into teaching and work at the cutting edge of international top research. 

Some examples of topics being researched include how the social situation and/or also occupational stress affect the risk of cardiovascular disease, how general practitioners and patients communicate with each other, whether prevention saves costs and which values and standards determine medical thinking and practice. 

Responsible for the content:

Health and Society

Wissenschaftler/innen gehen beim CHS (Center for Health and Society) am Universitätsklinikum der HHU der Frage nach, was ein gesundes Leben ausmacht und wie entsprechende gesellschaftliche Rahmenbedingungen gestaltet sein können.

Dabei sollen nicht nur die Bedingungen für ein gesundes Leben in unserer Gesellschaft und einer modernen gesundheitlichen Versorgungen erforscht, sondern auch Perspektiven für Verbesserungen der Gesundheitsversorgung erarbeitet werden. Hierzu arbeiten Wissenschaftler/innen zahlreicher medizinischer Fachgebiete des Universitätsklinikums interdisziplinär zusammen, kooperieren mit internen und externen Institutionen, integrieren ihre Forschung in die Lehre und forschen am Puls der internationalen Spitzenforschung.

So wird beispielsweise untersucht, wie sich die soziale Lage oder auch berufliche Belastungen auf das Risiko von Herz-Kreislauferkrankungen auswirken, wie Hausärzte und Patienten miteinander kommunizieren, ob Prävention Kosten spart und welche Werte und Normen medizinisches Denken und Handeln bestimmen. 

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt: E-Mail sendenStabsstelle Presse und Kommunikation